Quotes I Love: Maya Angelou

24 Dec

“Bitterness is like cancer. It eats upon the host. But anger is like fire. It burns it all clean.” 
― Maya Angelou

 

I’ve had people walk into my life and out. There are those who stayed and truly made an impact in my life. There are others who walked out of it for the better. 

Three relationships that didn’t work out. Friends that didn’t turn out to be real ones. With all that’s been said and done, I’m left with the ones I love and who truly love me and for that, I’m grateful.

For the relationships that never worked out, I can choose to be bitter and still talk about them but that’s not the option I want to choose. People have always wondered why it’s so easy for me to let go and move on.

TABULA RASA. A clean slate.

If a relationship doesn’t work out for reasons you can’t control, there’s no point in dwelling in all that could’ve been. With that said, I choose to see it in other ways instead. I’ve learned from all these three relationships and I believe I’m a better person because of them.

From the first relationship I’ve had, I learned to love completely. As teenagers, we had dreams of actually ending up together and having kids. At that time, it was alright to talk about it. We weren’t broken enough to believe otherwise yet. A, A was the name of the daughter that we were planning to have at 28 years old. As I’m writing this, I can’t help but smile. He taught my heart to love in this way and for that I’ll never forget him. 

My second boyfriend, for all that’s been said and done, taught me to live and be happy. He was the outgoing one when we were together. Our world was intertwined with so many other worlds as we loved being around people together. I met his family, his friends, and he also made sure he was part of my world. At that point, I learned to love in a more mature way. Everything wasn’t perfect, but I constantly had him by my side. A stable and dependable love, that’s what he showed me. 

My third relationship taught me how to be more careful with who I trust in life. I will not deny that there was a phase in my life when I’d wholeheartedly give my heart to people. Because of this relationship, I’ve learned never to immediately do this anymore. 

Aside from these relationships, I’ve also had friends who became, well, simply put strangers. Sometimes I hear stories about the names they call me and what they share about me, and no matter how hard it is to believe I just let go in one ear and out the other. It isn’t because of apathy at all, but because of the fact that reacting won’t really do anything anymore. Believe it or not, I’m too tired to even fight anyone. I feel no need to point out the facts that I’ve always known to be true. One line, an overused one, is what I’ll choose to say about this again: Live and let live.

So no matter how many times I hear about some people’s unbelievable anger towards me, I’ll just have to remember the quote above. 

I loved all of them once in my life, completely, wholeheartedly. I learned from these ex-boyfriends and former friends.

Although these relationships never worked out, I’m okay. They’re okay. And that’s all that matters. 

Image

Source: Edward Maya (Facebook)

 

Leave a Reply

